North Central Washington

Sports Awards

2017 Results -
47th North Central Washington
Sports Awards

Townsend repeats as NCW High School
Female Athlete of the Year

The 47th North Central Washington Sports Awards banquet, held June 6th at the Town Toyota Center, turned out to be a repeat for Okanogan's versatile Jill Townsend. For the second consecutive year, she prevailed in the High School Female category to receive the Athlete of the Year award.

Townsend was dominant in three sports while being named to the All-State 1A basketball team as well as Honorable Mention All-State in volleyball. In track & field, Townsend placed 2nd at the 1A State Championships in the shot, 3rd in the discus and 6th in the javelin. Next year she is set to play basketball for the Zags at Gonzaga.

In High School Male ranks, the nod for Athlete of the Year went to Cashmere's Tyler Kert. He was the Caribou Trail League tennis Player of the Year and ultimately finished 2nd in State 1A singles. A three sport athlete, Kert was the CTL's Most Valuable Player in basketball, and also competed on the gridiron.

Eastmont's state 4A title winning bowlers received the Female Team of the Year honor to become the first pin knockers to ever receive the award. Tonasket wrestling, the state 1A champion, took home the Male Team of the Year plaque.

The Sports Award for Female Team Coach went to Cashmere's Brent Darnell who guided the Bulldogs basketball squad to a 25 win season only to suffer its lone loss in the final game of the year to settle for 2nd in the 1A state championship. Tonasket's Dave Mitchell capped his final season as the school's wrestling coach with a state 1A title, not to mention recognition as NCW's Male Team Coach of the Year.

Scholar Athlete $1500 College Scholarships were awared to Eastmont's Kalea Bokma, bound for Cal Poly, and Chelan's Henry Eisner, who will begin college at WVC. The Don Elliston President's Award, presented to an individual for contributions to North Central Washington athletics, was received by Bruce Bennett for his efforts in compiling the histories of Wenatchee Valley College and Wenatchee High School athletics.

Ephrata student manager Douglas Greene was the NCW Spirit Award recipient for continuing to contribute to the Ephrata basketball program after a heart condition prevented his participation as a player.

The featured speaker at the event was Chelan's Joe Harris. Harris, a starter for the Brooklyn Nets, is the first athlete from NCW to compete in the NBA and was a college standout at the University of Virginia.

Selected separately, Chelan's Abby Phelps, an AVCA NCAA-II Honorable Mention All-American and All-Great Northwest Athletic Conference volleyball player for Western Washington, was named College Female Athlete of the Year. During the season she led the Vikings with 334 kills and 494 digs. College Male Athlete of the Year honors went to Cody O'Connell. The Wenatchee High grad was a Consensus All-American offensive guard for WSU after being named to five major All-American football teams.

2017 Sports Awards recipients –


Tyler Kert, Cashmere


Jill Townsend, Okanogan


Dave Mitchell, Tonasket wrestling


Brent Darnell, Cashmere basketball


Tonasket wrestling


Eastmont bowling


Cody O'Connell (Wenatchee) Washington State football


Abby Phelps (Chelan) Western Washington volleyball

List of finalists –

High School Male Athlete

Tony Esquivel, Wenatchee; Tyler Kert, Cashmere; Edgar Najera, Brewster; Ryan Niles, Omak; Zach Phelps, Chelan; Bryce Robison, Chelan; Luke Simonson, Cashmere; Jake Ulrich, Eastmont; Jose Valdez, Cascade; and Garrett Wilson, Tonasket.

High School Female Athlete

Katie Gleasman, Cashmere; Bobbi Hall, Pateros; Alli Hallberg, Wenatchee; Ellie Kimes, Cashmere; Erin Mullins, Chelan; Kenedee Peters, Ephrata; Jill Townsend, Okanogan; Hailey Van Lith, Cashmere; Paiton Wagner, Cashmere; and Jessica Wierzbicki, Wenatchee.

Male Team Coach

Miles Caples, Entiat basketball; Jeff Carlson, Cashmere baseball; Dominique Coffin, Cascade football; Nathan Covey, Omak basketball; Erick Judd, Okanogan football; Dave Mitchell, Tonasket wrestling; Jeff Pearl, Chelan basketball; Todd Phillips, Brewster baseball; Pete Spiegel, Cascade soccer; and Tim Taylor, Brewster basketball.

Female Team Coach

Jeremy Anders, Eastmont bowling; Bryan Boesel, Okanogan basketball; Brent Darnell, Cashmere basketball; James Elwyn, Wenatchee swimming; Cliff Johnson, Eastmont softball; Ken Krous, Cascade softball; Marni McMahon, Cascade volleyball; Laurie Pipkin, Entiat basketball; Dayne Prewitt, Eastmont volleyball; and Glen Stefanko, Cascade soccer.

Male Team

Brewster basketball; Cascade soccer; Cashmere baseball; Chelan cross-country; Entiat basketball; Okanogan football; Tonasket wrestling; Wenatchee soccer; Wenatchee swimming; and Wenatchee tennis.

Female Team

Brewster volleyball; Cascade soccer; Cascade volleyball; Cashmere basketball; Eastmont bowling; Eastmont softball; Eastmont volleyball; Okanogan basketball; Pateros volleyball; and Wenatchee swimming.

College Male

Trey Adams (Wenatchee) Washington football; Isaiah Brandt-Sims (Wenatchee) Stanford [CA] football & track; Eleazar Galvan (Chelan) Western Washington soccer; Jonnie Green (Ephrata) Washington State track; Cody O'Connell (Wenatchee) Washington State football; Trenton Osborne (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track; Jose Padilla (Chelan) Washington track; Armando Tafoya (Quincy) Central Washington track; Jeremy VanAssche (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track; and Domingo Villarreal (Quincy) Central Washington track.

College Female

Kiana Black (Wenatchee) Montana State volleyball; Hannah Bruggman (Wenatchee) Washington State swimming; Courtney Dietrich (Chelan) Sacramento State volleyball; Emmy Engle (Okanogan) Washington track; Haley Fabian (Eastmont) Western Oregon softball; Abby Phelps (Chelan) Western Washington volleyball; Ali Sealby (Wenatchee) Eastern Washington basketball; Chandler Smith (Brewster) Gonzaga basketball; Rebecca Tarbert (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track; and Arielle Turner (Cascade) Western Washington volleyball.