North Central Washington

Sports Awards

2016 Results -
46th North Central Washington
Sports Awards

NCW Prep Male Athlete of the Year ends in
deadheat for second year in a row

It has never been easy to select Sports Awards recipients in the recognition event's 46 year history. It was again proven how difficult it is as, for the second year in a row, the region's High School Male Athlete of the Year ended in a deadheat. Both Chelan's Jose Padilla and Wenatchee's Grady Miller were presented with the award at the 46th NCW Sports Awards Banquet at the Town Toyota Center on June 8.

Padilla, a three sport athlete who set the state record for all classifications in the discus and won 1A state titles in both the discus and shot, is bound for the University of Washington to compete for the Husky track team. Miller, an outstanding pitcher and basketball player, will be on the mound competing for the University of Portland next year.

In female high school ranks, Okanogan's Jill Townsend received the Athlete of the Year award. Male team honors went to the state 2B championship Okanogan football contingent while the Wenatchee Valley College women's basketball team was the recipient among female squads. Coaches of the Year were Wenatchee baseball's Jeff Zehnder, who guided the Panthers to a 24-1 record on the diamond with only a loss in the state 4A semifinals blemishing their season, and for female teams, Okanogan's Bryan Boesel was selected after leading the girls basketball squad to an undefeated, state 2B championship season. For Boesel, it was his second Female Team Coach of the Year selection - he also received the award in 2012.

The Don Elliston President's Award, given to an individual for exceptional service to North Central Washington athletics, went to Chris Griffiths. As a teacher and coach at Chelan Middle School, she has demonstrated a dedicated commitment to the community's youth for 42 years.

Girl and boy Scholar-Athletes of the Year College Scholarships were awarded to Madalyn Brown of Cascade and Brewster's Mitch Boesel.

Former University of Washington and Tennessee Titans starting quarterback Jake Locker was the featured speaker of the event.

Independently selected, North Central Washington Male College Athlete of the Year honors went to Jeremy VanAssche of Eastmont who now competes for the Eastern Washington University track team. This past year, VanAssche won the Big Sky Conference indoor title in the 60 meter sprint, won the Big Sky Conference outdoor 100 meter championship and set a school record in that event by crossing the finishline in 10.31 seconds. He also finished 8th in the 200 meter event. The Female College Athlete of the Year award went to Wenatchee's Hannah Bruggman who swam the second fastest times in the 50 and 100 freestyles in Washington State University history and finished 12th in the Pac-12 Championships.

2016 Sports Awards recipients –


Jose Padilla, Chelan and Grady Miller, Wenatchee


Jill Townsend, Okanogan


Jeff Zehnder, Wenatchee baseball


Bryan Boesel, Okanogan basketball


Okanogan football


Wenatchee Valley College basketball


Jeremy VanAssche (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track


Hannah Bruggman (Wenatchee) Washington State swimming

List of finalists –

High School Male Athlete

Clay Ashworth, Okanogan; Christian Brandt-Sims, Wenatchee; Chance Garvin, Lake Roosevelt; Mason Guerrette, Okanogan; Parker Landdeck, Cashmere; Nick McGill, Eastmont; Grady Miller, Wenatchee; Jose Padilla, Chelan; Timbo Taylor, Brewster; and Chance Williams, Brewster.

High School Female Athlete

Keanna Egbert, Okanogan; Emmy Engle, Okanogan; Cheyanne Greening, Eastmont; Maddi Hallberg, Wenatchee; Elli Kimes, Cashmere; Markie Miller, Brewster; Drew Morris, Chelan; Maddy Parton, Cascade; Emma Stockholm, Chelan; and Jill Townsend, Okanogan.

Male Team Coach

Brian Bailey, Entiat football; Travis Domser, Chelan football; Levi Heyen, Cashmere basketball; Erick Judd, Okanogan football; Jason Laugen, Ephrata baseball; Jenner Sanon, Brewster soccer; Zach Spet, Okanogan track; Tim Taylor, Brewster basketball; Dennis Tronson, Wenatchee soccer; and Jeff Zehnder, Wenatchee baseball.

Female Team Coach

Norm Armstrong, Wenatchee tennis; Missy Beirerman, Ephrata tennis; Bryan Boesel, Okanogan basketball; Brent Darnell, Cashmere basketball; Rick Duck, Omak softball; Rachel Goetz, WVC basketball; Jeff Kenoyer, Cashmere track; Dean Klepec, Okanogan soccer; Glen Stefanko, Cascade soccer; and Jay Young, Wenatchee bowling.

Male Team

Brewster baseball; Cashmere baseball; Chelan tennis; Okanogan football; Okanogan track; Quincy soccer; Tonasket wrestling; Wenatchee baseball; Wenatchee basketball; and Wenatchee soccer.

Female Team

Brewster softball; Cascade soccer; Cascade tennis; Cascade volleyball; Okanogan basketball; Okanogan soccer; Tonasket basketball; Waterville volleyball; Wenatchee bowling; and WVC basketball.

College Male

Trey Adams (Wenatchee) Washington football; Isaiah Brandt-Sims (Wenatchee) Stanford [CA] football & track; C.J. Gettman (Wenatchee) Central Washington baseball; Jonnie Green (Ephrata) Washington State track; Angel Guerro (Wenatchee) Evergreen soccer; Colton Loomis (Cashmere) Northwest Nazarene [ID] baseball; Dalin McConnell (Eastmont) Whitworth football; Lucas McGill (Eastmont) Whitworth track; Armando Tafoya (Quincy) Central Washington track; and Jeremy VanAssche (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track.

College Female

Catie Arrigoni (Oroville) Eastern Washington track; Kiana Black (Wenatchee) Montana State volleyball; Hannah Bruggman (Wenatchee) Washington State swimming; Courtney Dietrich (Chelan) Sacramento State [CA] volleyball; Audrey Ketcham (Wenatchee) Washington State track; Jozie Kimes (Cashmere) Eastern Washington track; Abby Phelps (Chelan) Western Washington volleyball; Rebecca Tarbert (Eastmont) Eastern Washington track; Rachel Wilt (Wenatchee) Pepperdine [CA] swimming; and Amanda Youngers (Brewster) Central Washington track.