North Central Washington

Sports Awards

2012 Results -
42nd North Central Washington
Sports Awards

Repeat recipients highlight 42nd NCW Sports Awards

Three repeaters were recipients of North Central Washington Sports Awards Athlete of the Year honors at the 42nd annual banquet Tuesday, June 26 at the Wenatchee Convention Center.  In high school categories, Omak’s Dylan Green and Wenatchee’s Audrey Ketcham received second consecutive Athlete of the Year awards, while former Wenatchee High School distance runner Hannah Kiser was named College Female Athlete of the Year as a cross-country and track standout at Idaho.

The College Male Athlete of the Year was Chelan’s Joe Harris who averaged 11.5 points per game as a starter for the University of Virginia basketball team.   Cashmere’s undefeated state 1A championship baseball squad received Male Team of the Year honors and its coach, Jeff Carlson, was Male Team Coach of the Year.  Okanogan’s state championship basketball team and Bryan Boesel were recognized as Female Team and Female Team Coach of the Year, respectively.

Roger Barnhart received the Don Elliston President’s Award for outstanding contributions to North Central Washington Athletics during 28 years as the Cashmere High School tennis coach, and continuing 26 years since retiring.

Former coach, UW football captain, and educator Mac Bledsoe inspired the crowd of approximately 300 with a talk about goal-setting and his father’s advice, “It usually isn’t the biggest and strongest who wins a race…its usually the one still running at the end who wins it.”

Green became just the second repeat Sports Awards High School Male Athlete of the Year recipient after rushing for more than 2,000 yards for the Omak football team, winning the state 1A 195-lbs. wrestling title, and winning two events in the State High School 220-lbs. Powerlifting Championships while setting state records in both.

Finalists came from a pool of superior prep athlete nominees that included 673 boys and 439 girls this year. Those initial nominees had impressive accomplishments that typically included all-state or all-league honors; or high placement in state competitions, regional or district meets; or multi-sport participation usually as a starter. The nominee list for college athletes numbered 71 males and 56 females who competed at 49 colleges in 15 states.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year – Michaela George (Wenatchee), Matt Robinson (Chelan) and Anne Christie (Cascade) – were honored and each awarded $1,500 scholarships to the colleges of their choice.  Oroville school district received an Outlying Athletic Grant of $1,000.

Including this year, net proceeds during the history of the Sports Awards are expected to reach almost $300,000 for college scholarships, athletic grants, support of youth sports activities and other charitable giving administered by Wenatchee North Rotary. 

2012 finalists –


Nicholas Boersma, Wenatchee; Isaiah Brandt-Sims, Wenatchee; Dylan Green, Omak; Derek Isaak, ACH; Macen McLean, Mansfield; Cole Schwartz, Chelan; Jacob Smith, Wenatchee; Joe Townsend, Okanogan; Berlie Walker, Eastmont; and Kyle Weiler, Cashmere


Christie Adams, Wenatchee; Courtney Dietrich, Chelan; Michaela George, Wenatchee; Chancy Gill, Pateros; Gaby Gonzalez, Cashmere; Madeline Isaak, ACH; Audrey Ketcham, Wenatchee, Casey King, Eastmont; Tyler Schreckengost, Okanogan; Chandler Smith, Brewster; and Kara Staggs, Okanogan


Jasen Brown (Brewster) Concordia track; Jason Caryl (Omak) Central Washington track; Wade Gebbers (Brewster) Whitworth basketball; Joe Harris (Chelan) Virginia basketball; Jake Horn (Ephrata) St. Cloud State wrestling; Erik Magnussen (Eastmont) PLU football; Mike Marboe (Wenatchee) Idaho football; Carter Nell (Eastmont) Texas State track; Ian Sagdal (Eastmont) WSU baseball; Jacob Sealby (Wenatchee) WSU track; and Derek Webb (Ephrata) Central Washington baseball


Korrie Bourn (Liberty Bell) Eastern Oregon basketball; Jamie Brunner (Chelan) Whitworth softball; Cassi Ellis (Eastmont) Central Washington softball; Jaicee Harris (Chelan) WSU volleyball; Hannah Kiser (Wenatchee) Idaho cross-country & track; Jordan Offutt (Cascade) Central Washington volleyball; Brooke Randall (Eastmont) Eastern Oregon basketball & track; Carmen Robb (Eastmont) UNLV swimming; Kristin Schramm (Chelan) Western Washington basketball; and Ashley Wright (Cascade) Eastern Washington volleyball


ACH basketball; ACH football; Cashmere baseball; Cashmere football; Chelan soccer; Chelan wrestling; Eastmont soccer; Ephrata track; Mission Ridge alpine skiing; Wenatchee track


ACH basketball; ACH softball; Brewster basketball; Cashmere cross-country; Cashmere soccer; Chelan tennis; Chelan volleyball; Mission Ridge alpine skiing; Okanogan basketball; Wenatchee Valley College softball


Keith Boyd, Cashmere basketball; Bob Bullis, Wenatchee track; Jeff Carlson, Cashmere baseball; Eric Duffey, Eastmont soccer; Scott Isaak, ACH basketball; Jay McGuffin, Chelan wrestling; Dan Martin, Ephrata wrestling; Ryan Shorter, Mission Ridge alpine skiing; Brandon Walsh, ACH football; Phil Zukowski, Cashmere football


Bryan Boesel, Okanogan basketball; Mike Correia, ACH basketball; Todd Gilbert, Cascade softball; Donene Hendricks, Chelan volleyball; LeAnne McGahuey, Wenatchee volleyball; Sheri Mortimer, Pateros softball; Shelly Pflugrath, Wenatchee Valley College softball; Randy Phillips, Brewster basketball; Marty Roethlisberger, Chelan tennis; and Dennis Tronson, Cashmere soccer